Halloween Memories

Halloween is coming!! Now, It’s not one of my preferred holidays but it has always had its perks. Obviously, the biggest one is candy; Chocolate, taffy, gum, popcorn and whatnot. And don’t forget that always wonderful chance to dress up and talk to strangers by walking up to their houses and begging for food or threatening to vandalize their house if you don’t get candy. It’s a wonderful concept really…

When my siblings and I were little, my mom made us dress up as Saints. I know now why she did it, but at the time, it was a huge pain. She wanted us to get the nicer side of Halloween, most notably the All Hallows Eve part from Christian traditions and not the undead, monster filled, horror film stuff. (All Hallows Eve starts the celebrations of All Saints Day and All Souls Day which both commemorate all of the souls of the dead.)

So the first few years were totally fine – cute angel costumes mostly – it was an easy time. But, as we got older, cool outfits and in the case of my brothers, badass costumes, were hard to come by. After years spent as various different pious womanly saints that basically consisted of the same nun costume, I decided that I needed a change. One of my personal favorite costumes was St. George. Now legend has it that St. George, for those of you that don’t know, killed a dragon and saved a damsel in distress. It’s a classic knight in shining armor story! Anyway, I decided that this costume was the greatest thing ever and I had to wear it, despite its male connotations, because I was just that cool. So this little plastic helmet, breastplate and shield was my costume for at least 3 years. I was a little bit pathetic but hey I was like 7 years old.

My sisters and brothers went along with the flow and as the years went on we became really creative with the costumes and my mom became more lenient on the whole saint thing. Now our restrictions just said that we couldn’t be a monster, a.k.a. a vampire, devil, zombie, etc. So we instead dressed as doctors and scientists, Olympians, football players, clowns and the always popular pirate. Life was easy and the candy was good and that is pretty much my trick or treating story!!

As for the other aspects of Halloween, I can’t even tell you how much I love pumpkin carving! My ridiculously talented family members have always taken carving very seriously. Of course, it has become a competition, as events between my siblings so often do. Matthew, my oldest brother, is really brilliant in this area and almost always wins our contests. We have carved everything from smiley faces to cartoons, star wars characters to ghosts and animals. And every year, we profit from buying so many pumpkins by roasting seeds and making stew inside of a pumpkin (surprisingly delicious!).

 My absolute favorite part of Halloween is the time of year that it occurs. Fall is my favorite season because of its gorgeous landscapes, colorful shades, cool temperatures and the occasional snowstorm. All in all, Halloween is a pretty fun occasion, enjoyed by tons of people from toddlers to college students (for different reasons) and of course it’s a great holiday to fill in that gap from Labor Day to Thanksgiving. ;)  

Bonus family pumpkin carving pictures! 

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

